ASU in MOP(S) newsletter

Bulletin # 4 • 29 February 2016

Initial Bargaining meeting well attended by ASU and delegates

The bargaining committee

The Initial Bargaining meeting went ahead in Parliament House last Friday and a committee was formed with Union representatives, Individual Bargaining Representatives, the Minister and Ministerial & Parliamentary Services (M&PS) staff.

Joanne Knight, National Industrial Officer and Lori Faraone (office of Andrew Giles ALP MP -Scullin, Victoria) and Jessica Malcolm (office of Sharon Bird ALP MP - Cunningham, NSW) attended for the ASU team.

Daniel Try attended as the representative of the Special Minister of State, Mathias Cormann. Tony Nairn chaired the meeting from M&PS.

There were also CPSU representatives in attendance, as well as Individual Bargaining Representatives from offices of Independents and LNP members.

APS Bargaining Policy offers no minimum pay rise

M&PS explained their approach to bargaining, confirming that the department consulted the Australian Public Sector Commission (APSC) about negotiating in accordance with the *current* APS Bargaining Policy.

For genuine bargaining to take place, the Unions questioned whether the Policy was binding and highlighted the discretion of the Special Minister for exemptions in past proceedings. No indication of potential pay offers will be made early in the proceedings.

Scheduled bargaining meetings

M&PS confirm that a second meeting will take place this Friday, 4 March 2016 followed by a subsequent meeting on 18 March 2016.

ASU National Industrial Officer Joanne Knight will attend with both ASU Delegates.

Have your say!

The ASU Survey has been extended and will close Monday 7 March 2016. If you have not already done so, please respond here: www.surveymonkey.com/r/MOPS_Act2016

This survey will be used to prepare an ASU Claim for negotiations.

- Personal information will never be shared and responses will always remain confidential.
- Any further nominations for the ASU bargaining team should be advised as soon as possible. Contact your branch representatives.

More information

For more information, please get in touch with the relevant contact below.

If you're not a member of the ASU, you can join online now at our secure form: https://asujoin.asn.au/

Branch and Delegates	Name	Contact
National Office	Joanne Knight	(03) 9342-1450
NSW US	Rudi Oppitz	roppitz@usu.org.au
VIC/TAS A&S	Dennis Mullins	dmullins@asuvictas.com.au
VIC PS	David Leydon	dleydon@asupsvic.org
SA/NT	Anne Purdy	apurdy@asu-sant.asn.au
QLD SNA	Camille Furtado	Camille.Furtado@theservices.com.au
QLD Together	Michael Thomas	Michael.thomas@together.org.au
ALP Vic - Andrew Giles, MP	Lori Faraone	(03) 9404-1911
ALP NSW - Sharon Bird, MP	Jessica Malcolm	(02) 4228-5899

Join now



Stay informed

www.asu.asn.au http://twitter.com/ASUnion www.facebook.com/

australianservicesunion

