Australian Municipal, Administrative, Clerical and Services Union

Victorian and Tasmanian Authorities and Services Branch

ELECTION NOTICE - E2018/261

Scheduled Election

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

Branch Executive

Branch President / National Conference Delegate (1)

Branch Senior Vice President / National Conference Delegate (1)

Branch Vice President (Woman) / National Conference Delegate (1)

Branch Secretary/ First National Executive Representative (1) *

Branch Executive President/ Second National Executive Representative (1) *

Deputy Branch Secretary/ National Conference Delegate (1) **

Assistant Branch Secretary/ National Conference Delegate (2) **

Branch Executive Member (Youth) (1) ***

National Executive Representative (1)

Alternate National Executive Representative (1)

Provisional Branch Executive Members (Tasmania) (2) ****

- * One of whom shall be a woman in accordance with Division IX Rule 19 (a)
- ** At least one woman must hold the office of Deputy Branch Secretary or Assistant Branch Secretary in accordance with Division IX Rule 20 (c)
- *** Nominees for this position must be below the age of 30 years on the day on which nominations close in accordance with Division IX Rule 5 (e)
- **** Nominations are called for this position in accordance with Division 9 Rule 5 (c) which states in part that "Financial Members elected as Branch Executive Member (Tasmania) are only elected to an office and will only become members of Branch Executive in the event that, at the declaration of the election, the number of Tasmanian members elected to the offices on Branch Executive, set out at sub-rule 5 b., does not equal or exceed the number required by the relevant provision of sub-rule 5 c."

(2)

Branch Executive Member –Industry Divisions

Local Authorities (4 of whom shall be women) (8)

Social and Community Services (2 of whom shall be women) (3)

Water and Energy (1 of whom shall be a woman)

Information Technologies, Transport, Shipping and Travel, Clerical (1)

and Administrative and Airlines

National Conference Delegates –Industry Divisions

Local Authorities (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Social and Community Services (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Water and Energy (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Information Technologies, Transport, Shipping and Travel, Clerical

and Administrative and Airlines (1 of whom shall be a woman) (7)

National Conference Delegate (Remainder)

Branch Conference Delegates -Industry Divisions

Local Authorities (16 of whom shall be women) (32)

Social and Community Services (6 of whom shall be women) (12)

Water and Energy (3 of whom shall be women) (6)

Information Technologies, Transport, Shipping and Travel, Clerical (4)

and Administrative and Airlines (2 of whom shall be women)

Alternate National Conference Delegates -Industry Divisions

Local Authorities (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Social and Community Services (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Water and Energy (1 of whom shall be a woman) (2)

Information Technologies, Transport, Shipping and Travel, Clerical (2)

and Administrative and Airlines (1 of whom shall be a woman)

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 06/03/2019.

Individual and team nomination forms are available from the Returning Officer, the website of the AEC (www.aec.gov.au) or the website of the Union (www.asu.asn.au)

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than 12 Noon AEDT on 27/03/2019.**

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Post: Allison Valentine, Returning Officer, AEC, GPO BOX 4382 MELBOURNE VIC 3001 **By Hand:** Returning Officer, AEC, Level 8 Casselden 2 Lonsdale Street Melbourne VIC 3000 *Please make an appointment with the Returning Officer to lodge nominations by hand.*

Withdrawing Nominations

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12 Noon AEDT on 03/04/2019.

Voting Period

The ballot, if required, will open on 24/04/2019 and close at 5pm AEST on 15/05/2019.

Scrutineers

As per the registered rules of the Union, candidates are entitled to appoint a Scrutineer who may be present at all stages of the ballot. The appointment of scrutineers closes at 5pm AEST on 16/05/2019.

A Scrutineer Appointment form is available from the Returning Officer.

Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Allison Valentine
Returning Officer
Telephone: 03 9285 7177
Email: vicelections@aec.gov.au

06/03/2019

