

An open letter to the Prime Minister, Tony Abbott

Tuesday 12th November 2013

Dear Prime Minister,

On the opening of the 44th Parliament of Australia, we write to urge your Government to consider continuation of the Low Income Superannuation Contribution (LISC).

Australian workers who earn \$37,000 per annum or below currently receive a 'rebate' of the tax paid on their superannuation contributions. This is worth up to \$500. If the LISC is withdrawn, these workers will receive no tax break on their contributions, paying more tax than if the money was part of their take-home pay. It is surely unfair that while the highest paid workers receive a tax concession of 30 per cent, the lowest-paid would be penalised for saving for their retirement.

The LISC provides more than three million low-income earning Australians with a much-needed boost to their superannuation savings – many, if not most, of whom cannot afford to contribute 'voluntarily' to their superannuation.

Around 2.1 million of these working Australians are women – who will face many other barriers to saving throughout their working lives, such as unequal pay, breaks from the workforce, overrepresentation in lower-paid industries, and barriers to employment beyond age 45. Women have longer life expectancies and so need more savings to last longer. Continuation of the LISC will assist nearly half the female workforce in this respect.

The number of taxpayers in Australia is due to halve over the next 30 years, placing increasing pressure on taxpayers of the future to fund the Age Pension and making superannuation savings crucial to peoples' abilities to live comfortably in retirement. The continuation of the LISC will go some way to alleviating this stress.

We call upon your Government to continue this scheme and break the funding link between LISC and the Minerals Resource Rent Tax (MRRT). Funding of LISC should be prioritised, as it benefits a third of the Australian workforce and is a crucial policy initiative in working to close the gap in retirement savings between men and women.

Yours faithfully,

Catherine Wood, National Chair – Women in Super

Mavis Robertson AM, Founder – Women in Super

David Anderson, Managing Director & Market Leader (Asia Pacific) -Mercer

David Atkin, CEO – Cbus

Kelly Banister, CEO – Australian Women's Health Network

Hazel Bateman, Professor of Risk and Actuarial Studies - University of **New South Wales**

Pru Bennett

Lorraine Berends

Claire Braund, Executive Director – Women on Boards

Juliet Brown, Chair – StatewideSuper

The Hon. John Brumby, Deputy Chair – Industry Super Australia

Peter Bugden, Chair - Catholic Super Neil Cassidy, CEO – Tasplan Super

Associate Professor Sara Charlesworth, Co-convenor, Work + Family

Policy Roundtable - University of South Australia

Marie Coleman, Chair, Social Policy Committee – National Foundation of Australian Women

The Hon. Peter Collins, Chair - Industry Super Australia

Sandra Cook, Chair – economic Security4Women

Anne-Marie Corboy, CEO – HESTA

Dr Mary Crawford, President – National Foundation of Australian Women

Mary Crooks AO, Executive Director - Victorian Women's Trust

Louise Davidson, National Chair – Mother's Day Classic

Richard Dennis, Executive Director – The Australia Institute

Samiro Douglas, CEO – WIRE Women's Information

David Elia, CEO - HOSTPLUS

Angela Emslie, Chair - HESTA Super Fund

Melissa Fuller, Deputy CEO - Rice Warner

Tom Garcia, CEO – Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees Cassandra Goldie, CEO – Australian Council of Social Services

Sandy Grant, Chair - CareSuper

Michelle Griffiths, CEO - AvSuper

Frank Gullone, Managing Director, Gullone Group

Sally Herman, Non-Executive Director

Damian Hill, CEO - REST

Dr Elizabeth Hill, Co-convenor, Work + Family Policy Roundtable -

University of South Australia

Debora Jackson, CEO – TWUSUPER

Philip Jackson, Presiding Member – Super SA & Southern Select Super

Corporation

Ged Kearney, President – Australian Council of Trade Unions

Dr Caroline Lambert, Executive Officer – YWCA Australia

Julie Lander, CEO - CareSuper

Ruth Medd, Chair - Women on Boards

Sharon Morris, CEO – Mother's Day Classic

Gerard Noonan, Chair - Media Super

John O'Flaherty, Chief Executive – StatewideSuper

Kevin O'Sullivan, CEO – UniSuper

Professor Barbara Pocock, Co-convenor, Work + Family Policy Roundtable

- University of South Australia

Danielle Press, CEO – Equipsuper

Elizabeth Proust AO, Non-Executive Director

Fiona Reynolds, Managing Director – UNPRI & former CEO – Australian

Institute of Superannuation Trustees

Anthony Rodwell-Ball, CEO - NGS Super

Elana Rubin, Non-Executive Director

Graeme Russell, CEO – Media Super

Carol Schwartz AM, Chair - Our Community

Richard Shearman, Chair - NGS Super

Ian Silk, CEO – AustralianSuper

Greg Sword, CEO – LUCRF Super

Leeanne Turner, CEO – MTAA Super

Phil Vernon, Managing Director - Australian Ethical Investment

Karen Volpato, Chair, Policy Committee – Women in Super

Bruce Wilson, CEO (Acting) - Sunsuper