Bookmark and Share

Ready to roll for Qantas EBA 10

13 February 2013 By ASU, the airlines industry union

Around 80 ASU delegates from Qantas Group Companies from across Australia met in Melbourne on 6 and 7th February to commence preparations for bargaining in the Qantas Group in 2013. Delegates from Qantas Airways, QFCL, QFIT, Jetstar and QantasLink attended.


Qantas EBA 10

Almost 1300 responses for our EBA 10 survey were received. Delegates endorsed a recommendation for our ASU EBA 10 claim which now needs to be considered by ASU Members.

Meetings are being organised in all locations to consider this draft claim before the claim is given to Qantas. Watch out for local meeting dates and times.

Our ASU EBA 10 National Negotiating Team (NNT) was elected by the delegates. The team comes from a range of areas in Qantas and NNT members work in diverse range of jobs in different classifications. Full time, part time, and Jobshare staff are represented on the team.

Qantas bargaining representatives notice

The Fair Work Act requires Qantas to provide all employees who are to be covered by the proposed EBA 10 with a letter outlining your rights. We expect Qantas to send out the letter within the next few weeks. Negotiators of EBAs are called "bargaining representatives".

Members of the ASU do not have to do anything about the appointment of a bargaining representative – the ASU is automatically your bargaining representative and the ASU NNT made up of ASU delegates and officials will conduct the negotiations for ASU members.

If you are not an ASU member now is the time to join so you can have a say about the claim and be represented by our team.

What next?

It is important to attend your local meeting to consider the delegates' recommendation about the claim so watch out for details.

Need more information

Contact your local ASU organiser for more information (download the full bulletin below for details).

icon Qantas EBA10 Bulletin #2 - 13 February 2013

Contact Details
Name: Linda White, ASU Assistant National Secretary
Telephone: 03 9342 1400