Bookmark and Share

National Conference 2012


The biennial ASU National Conference was held in 2012 in Adelaide from Monday, November 26 to Wednesday, November 28 at the National Wine Centre. The theme was "union-ready, future-ready".

icon 2012 National Conference - Feedback letter from Qld delegate John Finn 



  • Evaluation Survey - a password will be provided to delegates and observers to gain access to the evaluation survey where they can provide feedback on all elements of this year's Conference.


  • Women's Survey - a password will be provided to women delegates and observers to gain access to this brief survey.

  • Welcome Reception will be held on the evening of Monday 26 November at the National Wine Centre. Sponsored by AustralianSuper.
  • Women's Lunch, Tuesday 27 November at the National Wine Centre. Sponsored by ME Bank.
  • Conference Dinner will be held on the evening of Tuesday 27 November at the Adelaide Town Hall. Sponsored by Hesta Super Fund.
  • National ASU Delegate of the Year presentation (see names of nominees below). Sponsored by Government Skills Australia.
  • Life Membership presentations (see names of recipients below).

  • The Hon Jay Weatherill MP, Premier of South Australia
  • Paul Schroder, AustralianSuper
  • Tim Lyons, ACTU
  • Debby Blakey, HESTA Super Fund
  • Deputy President Peter Sams AM, Fair Work Australia
  • Josh Bornstein, Maurice Blackburn
  • Dr Anne Summers AO [read about Dr Summers' speech here: Are we serious about equality?]
  • Benjie Velasco, Philippine Airlines Employees Association (PALEA)
  • Dave Oliver, ACTU Secretary
  • Dr Joanna Howe, University of Adelaide
  • Commissioner Peter Hampton, FWA
  • Dr Iain Campbell, RMIT University
  • Professor Barbara Pocock, University of South Australia
  • Dave Garland, National Union of Workers

icon Speaker Profiles

Following are the key presentations to be made at the National Conference.

  • Equal Pay Campaign & Offshoring address - Linda White
  • Superannuation Panel - David Smith
  • Industrial Relations Panel - Greg McLean
  • Workshop - Unfair Dismissals & FWA Dispute Resolution Procedure - Michael Rizzo
  • Workshop - Insecure Work & Pressures of Modern Work - Warren Fridell
  • Workshop - Bargaining in a Hostile Environment - Justin Cooney


Kristen Gilbertson, SA&NT Branch, Alexandrina Council [read about the presentation]


Zoé Kennedy, C&SQ C&A Branch, Mater Hospital Brisbane

Anne Watt, QLD (S&NA) Branch, Gold Coast City Council

David Scott, NSW US Branch, Upper Lachlan Shire Council

Maree McDermott, NSW&ACT (Services) Branch, Nepean Community & Neighbourhood Services

Michael Vallis, VIC&TAS A&S Branch, Banyule City Council

Carolyn Cassar, VIC PS Branch, Jetstar

Andy White, WA Branch, City of Greater Geraldton

icon Delegate of the Year - nominee profiles

Mary-Anne O'Neill, C&SQ C&A Branch

Linden Scotts, NSW US Branch (USU)

Paul Slape, VIC&TAS A&S Branch

Barry O'Brien, WA Branch

Keith Harvey, VIC PS Branch 

Maxine Winkley, SA & NT Branch

icon Life Member profiles


Our generous sponsors

HESTALogo ISF RGB 2012   

AustralianSuperLogo ISF RGB      





  StatewideSuper wtag spot


Lieschke Weatherill Lawyers Logo          UnionShopper logo vert cmyk           MobileNetwork



MEBank Bank Fairer Logo